Simon's Skywriter Build Blog

Started by sihinch, March 12, 2014, 05:46:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sihinch

OK, so here we go, creating a dedicated build log for my Skywriter.

My first post I am going to show you the weights that we started discussing int he build class thread.  I'm happy with my rudder at 10g.  :)

The fin as per the plan, built exactly as it shows, comes in at 26g.  :-\   I cant show you much because I've attached the ply side reinforcements.  So you need to take my word for it!

I built a second fin tonight, as per the plan but without the ply sides.  This is shown in the thrid photo and weighs only 8g!   :D

I will be using the lightweight version!  ;D

sihinch

Just finished the horizontal stab and it weighs 14g. But I may add some balsa sheet. Not sure. It feels pretty sturdy.

sihinch

I decided to add some 1/32 balsa sheet. I'm new to this building game so who knows if it will make any difference! I'm hoping it will add some rigidity and little weight. We'll see.

Papa

The 1/32nd will increase the thickness and make it a 1/32nd thicker than the rudder.

You could use my solution and use 1/64th ply.

Either way it will all work so go with what makes you comfortable.

Looking great with all this building.

jack.
A motto to live by:
"What other people think of me is none of my business"

sihinch

Bizarrely my rudder is actually wider than the fin at present.

But I was adding the sheet to the horizontal stab.

I may copy Michael and add sheet to the fin, too. But I'm not sure it needs it. It feels solids enough.

Papa

The Fin should be 1/4" uncovered which is 8/32". The rudder should be 9/32" (3/32" x 3).

Does that make sense?

Jack.

A motto to live by:
"What other people think of me is none of my business"

sihinch

Well, it worked. Adding balsa sheet to the horizontal stab definitely made it stiffer. But it more than doubled in weight. Still lighter than Jack's with the ply, though.