Newbie in your midst...

Started by destinyy, July 10, 2004, 09:58:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

destinyy

Hello. My name is Daphne, and I'm here because I've been reading these boards for some time as a 'lurker' and haven't really joined or spoken up. I think this is a wonderful group, however (just from sticking around and reading thus far), and I'm in the process of joining up with MAAC so that I can also join TEMAC as soon as possible.

As far as introductions go, I think I'm just about the only female electric flyer I've ever met personally, but I hope to meet more soon [!]. I'm somewhere between 20 and 30 (we won't say where!) and I'm very new to the hobby; a rank beginner, learning slowly on my GWS Slow Stick. I love it to death. That, and I'm really quite enjoying the wonder of 5 minute epoxy, fresh solder and 14 guage wire..

My background is in computers, so I've had a fair amount of experience with circuit boards and electronics for a while now, but model aeronautics has always been little more than a distant sort of "what-if" dreamy interest of mine. Since I was a young girl, I've always wanted to fly remote aircraft. Of course back then, there were no such things as "inexpensive" small electric aircraft the way there are today. Back then, I was also very often in awe of the wonderfully talented remote pilots I'd see near my home.

There used to be a large open field across from our school park when I was a teenager, and I'd see folks with their giant glow aircraft, doing amazing bits of aerobatics in the sky. I was always in awe.