fibreglassing question

Started by eric, November 17, 2014, 02:10:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

eric

This question is for all the glass experts out there, especially our resident float flying guru, Robert, as he's probably done this a thousand times. I was given a set of gorgeous 29" long x 4" wide floats this morning that were made by the late Walter Lawrence. They have been planked and sanded to perfection and only need fibreglassing and painting for completion.

My questions: What weight of cloth should I use and how many layers?
                      I have 20 minute finishing epoxy. Is that OK for applying the glass?
                      What order do you use, bottom, sides, then top?

Can you tell I've never done this before? Thanks for any assistance!

Eric

piker

Ooooo....  nice floats!

I'd use my standard 1.34oz tight weave cloth that I've used on my Sandringham and Macchi M-33.  Yes it's heavier than the 3/4oz stuff but easier to work with and I feel the tighter weave quality of it reduces the ratio of epoxy used, which is the area that the majority of the weight comes from.

I don't think you need any extra layers on the bottom, unless you plan on flying from grass, or plan on running up on the beach a lot.  One layer overall should be fine.

I would glass the bottoms first with the excess extending past the edges, then when cured, trim flush and cover the tops with one piece of glass per float.  It'll be tricky working around those spreaders though.  I don't suppose they're removable.  Again, extend past the edges and trim flush and sand.

You MAY want to start the whole process by applying a narrow strip around the bottom edge and in the step area, to tie the edges together since based on what I just described, there would be no glass over the seam otherwise.  Don't try to go around tight, outside, corners with the cloth.  It won't stay and you'll end up with an area of cloth that can only be trimmed off, leaving an uncovered area.