An ambitious project - scratch-built Avro York

Started by Michael, April 14, 2020, 03:10:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Michael

While I'm still 'locked up' here at home, I'm going to try something I've never done before. I'm going to try to scratch-build a 72" wingspan, 4-motor Avro York, as in the image here. It will be built of balsa and ply, and will have retracts. It will be finished in vintage Transair (Canada) colours.

I picked the size because I have 4 motors and 2 retracts that should be appropriate for a model of this size.

Any comments before I start?
Michael

Frank v B

Oh wow!

And it looks like it has a triple tail like the coolest 4 engine airplane ever built.... the Lockheed Constellation.

A description of the Avro York  https://www.militaryfactory.com/aircraft/detail.asp?aircraft_id=1642

Frank
"Never trade luck for skill"

piker

Awesome!  Do you have plans or are you going to "wing it"?

Interesting.  I'm not familiar with the plane.

Michael

I am going to 'wing it'.

The Avro York was a post WW2 modified version of the Lancaster, converted to transport or for passengers.

It was also used for a time as business/personal planes for world leaders, Winston Churchill, for example.
Michael

GuyOReilly

Great Project!
I will be starting a Lancaster as soon as the Minimoa is finished.
I have 3 sets of plans and I am willing to let one go if you would need one.
The wingspan is 74 inches.
The plans were done by Paragon DPI 2 weeks ago.
What is your planned power system? 
Thank you and assistance with the power requirements and system set-up would be appreciated.
Guy

sihinch

Awesome project Michael. Wow! I'm so impressed.

Michael

Thanks Guy, that PDF will help. I don't think I'll need full size plans as I will sort of make-it-up as I go along.

I'm using 4 identical E-Flite motors taken from Convergence models, which are about the power of speed 400 brushed motors.
They'll be powered by a 3-cell lipo pack. I intend to build lightly.