Annual Report from the President - 2013

Started by sihinch, December 05, 2013, 05:18:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sihinch

For those of you that don't know, in my day job I am a Continuous Improvement Manager, which means I deal with numbers, statistics and data.  As I look back on 2013 for TEMAC, I can't help but appreciate some of the statistics.  Before I get to that, I also want to draw another parallel with my work; we have a goal, or mission of 100% engagement and zero losses, which we refer to as "100 & 0".  For TEMAC it was a milestone year, our 10th birthday, but also a year of firsts (which I will come to.)  So the theme for my report this year is "TEMAC: 10 & 1."

10 years as an electric club is an awesome achievement and we're going from strength to strength.  Our membership is in excess of 120 members which makes us the largest club in our zone, we're financially healthy and we have an improving and developing field.  So what about our firsts....

It's the first full year that we've had many aspects of our club in place, but I'd like to start with our website.  We had over 1 million page views and 4.6 million hits this year – how about that!  We get an average of 13 post per day, and Ed McMann has spent 35 days of 2013 (so far) on the website – does he deserve another award or therapy?  I think our website is a form of therapy. It allows us all to stay connected and support one another 365 days a year, 24hrs a day.  The best bit – our busiest topic is "Anyone planning on flying tomorrow?" which means that none of us can wait to fly again, and we want to do it with friends and other members!  Ben Feist – thank you so much for giving us this gem.