Great Planes Mustang .46 ARF conversion to electric.

Started by Frank v B, February 21, 2024, 08:41:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frank v B

Next project- Bought this 46 size Mustang on RcCanada (thank you Oscar).  It is covered, came with electric retracts and nothing else.  No servos, no motor.
I have been flying a similar one for about 5 years and it is terrific to fly.  Bought this one as a spare.

Stats for this new project:
: motor- a Turnigy Aerodrive (black)SK4250-650
: ESC - 60 amps
: 5 cells (approx 950 watts)
: prop- just big enough (tba)

Prep work:
- took all the slimer stuff out (tank, tubing, throttle cable, motor mount)
- took the cowl off.  A separate project to plug the IC engine holes (exhaust, needle valve, etc.) Photo 09

3 main tasks
1) install the motor in the proper place so the spinner clearance is correct.
2) install the electronics and make sure everything works properly.
3) finishing touches- paint, trim, cowl repair, etc.

Frank

"Never trade luck for skill"

Frank v B

Made the motor box.  A quick calculation showed that the box needs to be 1 7/8" thick to place the spinner in the correct place.
- balsa in between two plywood plates.
- tri-stock inside the box
- when cured- to top will be sanded flat and the plywood with the hole for the shaft will be glued on top.
- the whole box will be fibreglassed for strength.

F.

Frank v B

Glued the top on the box with 5 minute epoxy and turned upside down to cure.  That way the drips would act as bracing inside.

Fibreglassed the box.  Could not do it in a gift wrap method (all sides at once) because the corners formed air pockets quickly.  Air pockets are weak.  See photo 14
- mixed 5 minute epoxy and thinned it 50% with denatured alcohol.
- used about 6 oz glass cloth and brushed the epoxy onto it until soaked.
- wrapped waxed paper over the glass cloth, pulled it tight and wrapped masking tape tightly around it.