America Eaglet

Started by piker, November 14, 2019, 11:21:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

piker

Hey guys,

I wanted to start a little build thread about a plane I've been dabbling with for the past couple of years.  It's called American Eaglet, from a Spirit of Yesteryear kit.

The American Eaglet is a scale model of a home built aircraft from the early 1930's.  It's very basic, and pretty ugly, but the model is significant to me.

It all started back in 1992 when I was on my honeymoon in Cape Cod.  I had been flying RC for about 13 years, but mostly with gliders... lifted with either a high start, an evil .049 engine, or slope soaring.  I started flying Electric powered models in 1989 with an Electra, then an Electro Streak, then after a few less successful attempts, the American Eaglet.

It was while I was in Cape Cod that I stopped into a hobby shop and found the kit.  I built it over the following year, and then flew it for many years until it eventually became more and more warped and beat-up and I ditched it.  The Eaglet was also my first seaplane, with my own design floats.  It flew beautifully from water and offered a model that was light and quiet and perfect for those calm evenings at the lake.  It was even on City News one evening while flying at Cherry Beach in downtown Toronto.  These were the days of flight times of about 5 minutes with most planes, but I could cruise the Eaglet around over the water for 15 minutes on a brushed motor and 7x1700mah NiCad cells (equivalent to 2 cell Lipo but about 10 times the weight :o), with plenty of touch and goes tossed in for fun.

So, now I live on the lake, and there are MANY calm and quiet mornings and evenings just calling for a peaceful seaplane flight.  I've been wanting to have a plane similar to my old Eaglet to take advantage of these perfect times without creating too much noise or wake to disrupt the atmosphere.  I found the kit was still offered by Brodak, so I ordered one in.