Trimming down props to go beyond square ??

Started by Bobmic, April 23, 2013, 08:09:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bobmic

I was looking for a way to increase the speed of my Sundowner without changing the motor.
I currently run a 770kv Power 32 on 5S and tested it with 10x10, 11x10 and 12x12.
With the 12x12 I flew only once for a short while to gather some data and the as expected the current was too high for the motor rating as it reached 70Amp with spikes going way above 80Amp. The 11x10 is just at the spec limits and the 10x10 is easily within the motor spec.
I was thinking of cutting down a 12x12 prop to something like 9.5x12 (beyond square) I know this is quite a bit but there are no 11x11 props and I am aware of the fact the this will be a wider prop but I can check to see if it doesn't draw too much current.
The question is why no one manufactures props beyond square - will I end up with a big boom... or does the prop starts to slip?

Thanks,
Bobby

thehaze

I'm no expert on props but my guess is that the maximum pitch is somehow related to the diameter and that's why you won't find a prop with a pitch number higher than the diameter.

I don't think trimming your prop is going to give you what you are looking for. If anything, it's going to make the power system less efficient.
Takeoffs are optional. Landings are mandatory.

sihinch

I run a 5.25 x 6.25 APC prop on my Nooner.

Ededge2002

http://www.soaringusa.com/AJ-Prop-10x23-F5D-Pylon-Blades.html

Most props do not go over square for several reasons.  The major one is that as pitch climbs the static thrust drops. This can lower take off and acceleration performance.  manufacturers cater to the masses and as soon as you try to step beyond that you can run into these troubles.