Flight training- now free of SAFE

Started by Frank v B, August 21, 2021, 04:31:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frank v B

Due to the continuing and more dangerous mishaps with Horizon Hobbies SAFE enabled planes, from this Wednesday on we are happy to train you per normal provided the SAFE function is fully disabled inside your plane.... not just the transmitter.

If it cannot be disabled in the plane, we will supply you with a temporary regular 4 channel 2.4 gig receiver to use until you solo. We will then ask for it back or you can buy it at cost.

I have been teaching for exactly 30 years and have had 3 mishaps in all of those years until now.  In the past year I have been involved in at least a dozen crashes and one Fly-away, all because of SAFE enabled planes did not let me correct the error.  Also, in the past year, at least half the time when a new student has come to the field he could not see his plane fly due to SAFE issues.  Unacceptable in my eyes.  See my post on my opinion and accidents: https://temac.ca/smf/index.php?topic=8056.0

With this policy in place, we will be able to guarantee:
- you will see your plane fly on your first visit to the field.
- you can bring any plane and will test fly it for you if you wish...even if it is not the best plane for you.  Ask David Kates when he first showed up at the field with a little FliteTest Cub, saw it fly and realized himself it was the wrong trainer.  He can now fly anything with wings.
- I will still re-build any plane I damage when on the buddy box.

Each instructor can have his own point of view and can make his own decisions.  This is mine.

SAFE... is not!

Frank